Dear 16 year old me

Please watch

First saw this on Ali Edwards blog, struck me. Such an important message in such a simple way.

I am fair skinned and covered in moles & freckles. I have already had 4 moles removed in the last few years, the last one was of a concern but wasn’t malignant. That mole put me into the category of higher risk of skin cancer. I know every mole on my body, I know its location, feel, size & colour. Any change and I am at the doctors and 9 times out of 10 that trip to the doctor means having that mole removed. I have that mole cut from my skin, the skin stitched back together &  I wait. The last two mole removals were painful afterwards, one healed over the stitches & had to me reopened, I got an infection.

I have the scars for life, there has been some fading but I can still find the scars & so can others. I have lost the potential relationship I could have had with a relative because of skin cancer. I don’t want to do that to my family.

Prevention is better than cure. Prevention is simple. Slip, slop, slap.

Live today like you want to live tomorrow, alive.

Leave a Reply

