Travel Tips

In August myself, WH & my sister are taking our exciting & long-awaited trip to New Zealand. It will be my & WH’s first trip overseas (which just adds to the excitement). Having never traveled overseas before I am not sure what to expect or what we will actually need. Luckily I have been coming across some great tips on some of my favourite sites. Thought I would share something that I came across today on Re-nest.

The Top 10 Things To Carry With You When You Fly

(I have changed the list slightly to suit my needs, click here for the original article)

1. Notebook, pen & pencil

Might seem alittle strange, especially if you aren’t the type of person who likes to write about experiences, I am that kind of person. For me this will be my travel journal. I love to document my thoughts & feelings about the experiences that I am having. Since this will be our first overseas trip I am sure I will be writing up a storm.

2. A Scarf or Shawl

I feel the cold, always have. And anywhere with air-con never seems to have it at any temperature other than freezing. Planes can be some of the worst because of the amount  of people in such a relatively small space, all those people create warmth then the aircon is turned down making it freezing! I will also be dressing in layers, since we will be going for our winter temperature 11 degrees lowest day time temp to New Zealand winter temp around 3 to -1 degrees ouch!

3. A snack or food of some sort

Some nuts, trail mix or something else small. Make sure that it is something that you will eat all of it. There are regulations for what can and cannot be taken across borders. Also good to check what is allowed to be brought food wise into the country you are travelling to (and from).

4. Lotion

Something that I have never thought of, but will defiantly being doing. In winter I can get terribly dry skin, especially on my face & hands, and aircon again doesn’t help me. A small tube of lotion is defiantly on my list!

5. Paracetamol, IBProfen & Antihistamine

Nothing worse that getting a headache & being stuck in what to be honest is not the quietest or darkest places to be having a headache. I also always get block ears, no matter if I don’t have a cold or even the slightest symptoms of a cold. I think that it is allergies that are set off by the aircon (there it is again, air con causing problems), so I have been taking an antihistamine before getting on a plane & I have no problems.

6. Audio player & earphones

What I didn’t think of is that having some form of audio player means more that just having your own choice of music to listen to, you can down load podcasts & audio books.

7. Chewy lollies

This again is all about my blocked ears, chewing helps alot when you are in the air with blocked ears.

8. A small bag to carry all the little stuff

There is no point having a small bottle of lotion, medication & other small items if you can’t find them. A small bag will keep everything together in one place & make it easy to access what you need.

9. Something to read / E-reader

Depending on what you prefer to actual hold a book or magazine or you own an e-reader. Having something to read is essential. We have a tablet computer that we will be taking with us, I might still take a book or magazine with us just because both myself & my husband will want to use the tablet computer on the flight.

10. A waterbottle

Again something that I didn’t consider cause when you fly in this day and age you can’t carry a full water bottle through security, but you can carry an empty bottle then fill it inside the airport. Being hydrated is important, stops the skin from drying out or getting a headache from dehydration.

2 thoughts on “Travel Tips

Leave a Reply

