Unusual display objects

I love reading the articles on Apartment Therapy (who doesn’t!), I subscribe via my blog reader Bloglovin. Most of the articles I skip over, there are usually 30+ new articles every time I open my blog reader. But I have kept my subscription (even after I did a re-evaluation of what I was and wasn’t reading awhile back) because when I do come across are article I want to read I love it, or get some great ideas for my home.

This morning I came across an article about unusual display objects in the home. Click here to go & read the article yourself, it is really thought provoking. Read the comments too!

Quote from the article:

So much of what we see in the world of interiors fits into a mold, and frankly it can get a bit boring at times. While I’m not promoting displaying random stuff just because it looks cool, I think that embracing your inner quirkiness might not be such a bad idea.

Which made me think about the things that I display around my house. Over the last 12months or so I have been trying to inject my & WH’s (wonderful husband) personalities into our home. Particularly focusing on WH, because I am the one doing the majority of the decorating decisions that my personality comes through quite easily.

I thought that I would share some of the quirky things we have on display around our house.

20120626_121850

A Dalek & a dolphin (something from my childhood) live in a corner of our kitchen.

20120626_121841

Dashound (WH family have a soft spot for dashounds & every member of the family has a dashound either a statue or a soft toy or even a Christmas decoration)

20120626_121906

Sail boat & some Irish coins in the music room/guest room (WH use to sail alot when he was a kid & he is 1/2 Irish, his Mum as born in Ireland)

20120626_121827

My sister-in-law crochet this for me last Christmas, it looks just like our pet bird Curios.

20120626_121809

T.A.R.D.I.S lamp, must admit I asked people to get this for WH’s birthday last year. I knew he would love it, but I love it too.

 

Do you have things displayed around your house that are quirky & express your personality that might not be usual?

Leave a Reply

