Illustrated Faith: Advent Week 1

I have soooo been enjoying doing advent this way this year.

Check out my previous post here to learn exactly what I’m talking about.

Today I thought I would share what the rest of the first week of Advent looked like, check out the first 2 days here.

Advent Day 3 - John 1:9-12

Advent Day 3 – John 1:9-12

Advent day three was a reminder of what it truly means to have CHRIST in my life. It means that I have the light of salvation & hope inside of me, and ultimately because of my belief & faith in JESUS CHRIST I can have the right and privileged to be called ‘A Child Of GOD’.

Being a child of GOD really stuck with me after reading the verse, it is a powerful statement. And an insight into my future in Heaven. This for me is the true gift of Christmas, the reason JESUS came to this earth, to free me of the bounds of my own sin so that I can be called ;A Child of GOD’.

Yet to all who receive Him, to those who believe in His name, He gave the right to become children of GOD ~ John 1:12

I have been truly enjoying getting back to just lettering and coloured pencil, I found this illustration online and copied it into my bible. I really like the doodling around the words and the different types of fonts.

Advent Day 4: Jeremiah 33:14-15

Advent Day 4: Jeremiah 33:14-15

Day four was a reminder that JESUS was the fulfilment of a promise that GOD made to the people of Israel & Judah. And that when GOD makes a promise He keeps it! But in His own perfect timing and in His own way.

JESUS was and is the promised sprout from the line of King David.

‘The days are coming’, declares the LORD, ‘when I will fulfill the good promise I made to the house of Israel and to the house of Judah. ‘In those days and at that time I will make a righteous branch sprout from David’s line; He will do what is just and right in the land ~ Jeremiah 33:14-15

Some times when I’m reading an image just pops into my head and it just sticks with me. The branch was an image I couldn’t shake with this verse, adding the words of truth about JESUS’ lineage around the branch. I did an image search to find a simple branch to draw.

Advent Day 5: Isaiah 60:19-20

Advent Day 5: Isaiah 60:19-20

Day five (FRIDAY!!!) I love the imagery of this verse that one day GODs glory will shine so brightly through out the world that we will no longer need the sun, moon or lamps. I can’t wait!

Also a reminder that JESUS is the light of the world (John 8:12) and His light is inside of me because I choose to believe in Him & have given my whole self over to Him. And that light shines into the darkest parts of myself, not allowing darkness, sin & evil a place dwell.

I have learned to live that truth this year as I have battled the evil ones hold over my internal self talk.

The sun will no more be your light by day, nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you, for the LORD will be your everlasting light, and GOD will be your glory ~ Isaiah 60:19

Really like the font on the word ‘everlasting’ art deco style. Something nice about the simplicity of words & coloured pencil, lets the message really speak for itself to me.

Advent Day 6: Romans 15:12-13

Advent Day 6: Romans 15:12-13

Day six. I really struggle on the weekends with prioritising time with GOD, but having advent to do gave me more of a push to just take the time out with GOD. And it was worth it.

Hope. JESUS came to bring not only a new covenant & freedom to the Jewish people but He also came to give hope to the gentiles, that’s me! I have hope in an eternal future because CHRIST came to earth from Heaven to free us all from the yoke of slavery to sin.

Hope in God truly does bring joy & peace into my life everyday, I just have to be willing daily to turn to Him and follow His path already set out for me (do wish sometimes that path was alittle easier to see, but I do know it is there, just have to rely on GOD to light my way)

May the GOD of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the HOLY SPIRIT ~ Romans 15:13

Alittle stamping fun this day. I have had these stamps for a while & have been waiting for Christmas (they will be appearing on gift tags this year). I cut up some of the sentiments so I could just use the ampersand and the word ‘peace’. But since they are clear stamps I can align them back into order with a clear stamping block, easy.

Day seven was a rest day in the advent reading plan I’m using, and it was Sunday. I usually skip quite time with GOD on Sundays, with going to church, catching up with friends and spending time with WH (wonderful husband) quite time always gets pushed to the back burner. Terrible I know. But next week (which is actually this week) I’m going to try to sit down and reflect on the Sunday message from our Pastor. Try anyway!

Hope & pray that those of you who are also doing some form of advent study this year and being blessed and growing in your relationship with our Heavenly Father.

One thought on “Illustrated Faith: Advent Week 1

Leave a comment