An Illustrated Advent

It is December! Where on earth has the year gone? I have no idea.

Over the last couple of years I have tried to do some things to document and reflect on the importance of this time of year.

And failed every time!

But that is ok, every failure just brings you closer to what actual works.

I have actual found doing normal scrapbooking, just one page documenting the whole season or just one moment, has worked best for me. But I also enjoy taking the time do reflect on the true story of Christmas through doing a bible study that takes me through the story of Jesus’ birth.

I have also been getting involved in the Illustrated Faith movement (click here to read more info), so I wanted to participate in an Illustrated Advent. Shanna on her blog is using an actual book, but I couldn’t really justify the purchase so I have found a bible study on my bible app youversion for the purpose.

So far it has been 2 days, this being the 2nd December & I have really enjoyed things so far. Basically I do my quite time study as normal for me reading the verse(s) from the advent bible study. Reflecting & writing down my thoughts. I pray, then I pop over to my craft table and think about what really stood out to me in what I read & what God reveled to me in that reading. Then I get creative!

Advent Day 1 - Luke 1:26-38

Advent Day 1 – Luke 1:26-38

Advent Day One was a lot of reading!! The story of how Mary found out she was going to give birth to Jesus is one that is heard time and time again this time of year. But I found myself lead to how Mary felt fear at first when the angel appeared to her, then concerns about how what she being told was even possible then she submitted and accepted to GODs plans for her. The words that really stuck out for me was vs 37

For no word from GOD will ever fail Luke 1:37

So I journaled a combination of the two. Simply with my own handwriting and stamps.

Advent Day 2 - John 1:1-4

Advent Day 2 – John 1:1-4

Day two was a departure from the ‘traditional’ story of Jesus’ coming to earth. But I found it important to understand who Jesus actually is & that he was there at the creation of the earth. And that he knew me before I even came into being. Verse 4 struck me with the simplicity and power in its message.

In him was life, and that life was the light of all people John 1:4

This time I choose to stick with just lettering, coloured with coloured pencils. Simplicity for words that truly speak for themselves.

I’ll be back as I keep going with Journaling Advent 2014, so far it has been a great way of exploring the true meaning of the season.

One thought on “An Illustrated Advent

Leave a comment